Hi! I would like to know if, when doing an upgrade while using Paypal subscription, the user needs to wait until the last billing cycle ends.
I have read the documentation and learned that the first subscription needs to be cancelled in order to get the upgrade subscription, but I’ll give you an example: The user has a “Premium” Monthly subscription which bills on 1st of every month, then on day 15 he decides to upgrade his subscription to “Pro”, cancels his “Premium” subscription and makes the new payment. Does the new “Pro” billing cycle starts on day 15 (meaning that the user would lost 15 days of his already paid “Premium” subscription) or does the plugin recognize the last payment and starts the new billing cycle right after the last one ends?
Thank you for answering!
Hi, the following information was used in another forum post to explain how the upgrade works.
This is how the upgrade button process works in our plugin.
Lets say a member purchased a $15 membership level A which is for 1 year term. Then somewhere in between the member pays for a $20 membership level B (which is also for a 1 year term). The new time will get added to the end of his existing one year term. So the user will have access for a total of 2 years.
In other words when level A is upgraded to level B before the year is completed — say 6 months into the contract — the member will have access to level B content which also includes level A content for the remaining 6 months and an additional 1 year is added at end of the 6 months period.
This simple method works good when the upgraded membership level contains all the content from the previous level and more. So in the above example, membership level B gives them access to all content from A and more. So an structure like “Bronze”, “Silver”, “Gold” etc. If your membership levels are completely unrelated to one another then it probably won’t work out good.
Let me know if you need more information or help.
You must be logged in to reply to this topic.