This is only applicable if you are using a PayPal subscription button for your membership payment.
What happens when an existing subscription payment is cancelled depends on the membership level settings of the member in question. Read the following section so you can set the correct access duration settings for your membership level based on what you want.
Access Duration Set to No Expiry
If the membership level’s “Access Duration” value is set to No Expiry, then the member’s account will be cancelled immediately when the subscription is cancelled.
The No Expiry type access duration allows the account to have access as long as the subscription payment is active. So the account is deactivated as soon as the subscription is cancelled.
Access Duration Set to Fixed Date Expiry
If the membership level’s “Access Duration” value is set to Fixed Date Expiry, then the member’s account status won’t be changed. The account will expire on the fixed date that you have selected in the membership level configuration.
Lets say, the expiry date is set to December 15, 2025. Then the account will expire on that date even if the subscription was stopped/cancelled today.
Access Duration Set to Expire After
If the membership level’s “Access Duration” value is set to Expire After (example: 30 days), then the member’s account status won’t be changed when the subscription is cancelled.
The account will expire after the duration time (example: 30 days) has passed since the last payment date.
- You have a membership level with 30 days expiry duration.
- You have a subscription payment with 30 days recurring period for this level.
Every 30 days when the payment is received, the member’s Access Start Date will be reset to the current date and he will have access to another 30 days.
When the subscription is cancelled, the account status will stay “Active” (this gives the user access to what he already paid for). The account will be deactivated after 30 days have passed since the last payment date.
What Happens if the Payment is Refunded
If you issue a refund then the account will be deactivated as soon as the refund is processed.