- This topic has 1 reply, 2 voices, and was last updated 5 years, 5 months ago by .
Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
- You must be logged in to reply to this topic.
WordPress Membership Plugin
Simple Membership Plugin › Forums › Simple Membership Plugin › Users vs. Members confusion
I just inherited a website that uses Simple Membership. I’ve been reading the documentation trying to get the lay of the land (plus I’ve used a lot of other membership plugins over the years, so I’m generally familiar with how most of them work).
I’m confused about the difference between standard WP Users and the Members list under the plugin. It seems like people can be Users or Members or potentially both? But you can’t adjust any membership related settings via Users? Members and Users have different passwords? So I was thinking these things are just completely separate. But then when I deleted a Member, it also wiped out their User account, so apparently they are related somehow?
I’ve been looking at the plugin documentation but can’t find anything addressing this. Can someone give me a basic overview of what the difference is between Users and Members and how they do (or don’t) work together?
Hi,
Simple membership plugin works with WP Users. Each time a new member is added to your site they will also have a corresponding WP User account created. Which means that when they log into your members area, they will also get logged in as a WP user automatically.
So if they are logged in as a member and they post a comment, that comment is also posted as a WP User (because they are also logged into their WP user account).
Note: If someone signs up as a WP User they will not be added to your members area unless you enable the following feature Enable Auto Create Member Accounts. This is located under Advanced Settings. Alternative, you can use the following addon simple-membership-wp-user-import.
Let me know if the above helps you.
Thank you